Typical Day of Plant-Based Eating

A typical day in my life looks something like this:

IMG_20170202_094731_210Pre-Breakfast:

  • 1/2 cup of plant milk with my coffee.

img_20161203_104004Breakfast: Oatmeal or Fruit Bowls

  • 3/4 cup to 1 cup of quick-cooking oats
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tablespoons of nuts (chopped almonds, pistachios, hazelnuts)
  • Liquid Stevia to sweeten

Sometimes I add in seeds, flax, more fruit, vanilla, cocoa powder or PB2.

My fruit bowls usually sit at around 600-700 calories. These include a variety of fruits, nuts, seeds and dried fruit. I tend to enjoy these types of breakfasts during the spring/summer months.

IMG_20170219_100903_412IMG_20161112_182643Lunch: Big Salad or Veggie Wraps

My salads are massive. This is where I try to get the most nutrient dense foods in to my body.

  • Tons of greens (Spinach, arugula, lettuce)
  • Beets
  • Cucumbers
  • Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • Carrots
  • 1 cup of beans (kidney beans, chickpeas, black beans)
  • Pumpkin or sunflower seeds
  • One cup of starch: Brown rice, baked sweet potatoes or roasted pumpkin

Occasionally I would add olives, avocado, salsa and nutritional yeast.

Dressing: Mustard and hot sauce, tahini with lemon and garlic or nutritional yeast with spicy mustard.

I listen to my body before every meal. If i’m craving a wrap or sandwich, I don’t force myself to eat a salad just because it’s categorized as ‘healthier’. I have no problem with bread and I have no problem with eating to my heart’s content…as long as it’s nutritious.

IMG_20170209_204512_850Dinner: Nutrition Bowls, Pita Wraps, Salads

These are basically big bowls of anything I have on hand. Always have a protein and a starch. If I’m not having a nutrition bowl I would eat pita wraps or vegan pizzas topped with tons of veggies. Dinners differ quite a bit and I eat what my body wants in the moment. If I’m feeling pasta, I have pasta with a low fat tomato sauce. If I’m feeling pizzas, I make my own whole wheat crust or make quick whole wheat pita pizzas. It all depends on the mood. I like to make sure I satisfy my needs at dinner time to avoid pigging out on random things later on in the evening.

Nutrition bowls typically look something like this:

  • Curried Beans/ Stews (lentils, black bean chili, chickpeas)
  • Brown Rice
  • Greens: Lettuce, Spinach, spring onions etc.
  • Tomatoes
  • Tomato paste
  • Topped with starches: Roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes or corn

IMG_20161125_091234Dessert: Fruit Based Treats

I love to end the day with something sweet. Usually this would be something like banana or strawberry ‘nice cream’ or a handful of dates. I sometimes also have a few bites of vegan chocolate or fruit dipped in to cocoa sauce or peanut butter to satisfy that sweet craving.

Of course I have those days when I’m inexplicably ravenous and I eat a lot of fatty sugary processed foods. That is normal and natural and it’s okay. I also try fatty foods in moderation when I’m on vacation, because I want to enjoy the experience. Most of the time when I’m having one of those crazy hunger days, I allow myself to eat guilt-free, and in all honesty I know I’m eating healthy foods so no big deal. Yes, there are days when I have two breakfasts because I’m that hungry, there are days when I finish a big bowl of salad for lunch and then go and get something else. There are times when all I want is to eat three bowls of popcorn or a big bowl of oatmeal for dinner. So what? Who cares. As long as you’re happy with the foods you eat, and you aren’t restricting your foods, then you will know that you have succeeded in taking control, thoughts of and cravings for food should not take over your life.

This is my own personal diet, I know most people do not eat this way, and I am fully aware that this might not benefit people who feel it might be restrictive. I just know in my heart that this is the healthiest way of eating out there, fruits, veggies, grains, nuts seeds it makes sense to eat those for good health. However, I would never force this way of thinking on anyone, and I believe that no matter how or what you eat, if you feel like that is giving you more pros than cons in your life, then stick with it.

