30 Years of Wisdom

IMG_20170318_213353_225

Today is the first day of this new chapter in my life. I am now 30 years old. It is amazing to think that I have lived for 30 years and experienced so much, yet I still feel and hold emotions and habits from my childhood, teenage and young adult years. I feel no different. But I know there is a certain expectation that comes with turning 30. The expectation that you are now a grown woman, a responsible self-sufficient lady with a fixed set of beliefs and values. I have all of those things, but I also know that we continue learning throughout our lives. We continue to learn to better ourselves, to be greater every year. The biggest success I find is when you look back on the last few years and realize how much you have done with your self. I’m not talking about career or education or material possessions, I’m talking about your own mind, the inner self and well-being. I’m so proud of the woman I am now and I look forward to many more years of growth, inner peace and a life filled with love and gratitude.

Saying those numbers still feels strange to me. I have always known myself to be 20-something, at least as far as I can remember from my ‘normal’ years. Teenage years don’t count because I literally couldn’t figure myself out nor did I have enough experience to shape my personality as it is now. I was still lost, unaware of the possibilities ahead and absolutely no idea about who I am and what I can be. That’s what my 20’s were for. The years of growth, of acceptance, of learning, belief solidification and becoming an individual. Some of the best and worst years of my life. Thank you to all those years. Thank you for building me and making me what I am now. Thank you for allowing me to grow and for putting up with my emotional outbursts, my ups and downs, my lack of control and my tumultuous episodes of  quarrels with my inner critic.

With this new year, there are a few things I hope to be able to achieve. My 20’s were for finding myself, for starting a career, for finding love and starting a home of my own. Although I never imagined that I would have been able to get to this point in my life, I’m so grateful and feel so blessed. My 30’s are less about striving for a dream or being successful at ‘things’. I want my 30’s to be about moments, experiences and happy, raw, in the now feelings. I know who I am, I know what I stand for, I know the things that I love and the things that I would like to keep away from. I know myself now so it’s time to help that self be the best that it can be. This new era is about spiritual growth, creating true internal contentment, nurturing my soul and letting go of attachments to things and the need for control. A chapter of soul cleansing, love and drama-free thoughts.

What have I learned from these past 30 years? Let’s find out…

  1. You gotta enjoy every single moment of your life.
  2. Stress only makes you feel worse. It affects you both mentally and physically. Don’t stress about anything. Big or small. There is always a hidden explanation for things not working out the way you want.
  3. Treat your body well. Be kind to it and respect it. This is the only thing we have control over in this life.
  4. Walk away from toxic relationships and people.
  5. Understand that friends come and go, but the memories you shared with them will build you in to becoming a wise and happier person or a pessimist cynic. You have the ability to choose to let those experiences break you or you can choose to let them be a new learning opportunity.
  6. Be good to your family. Treat them well every day. If you fight, always go back and apologize and let them know they are loved.
  7. Be grateful for all that you have and all that you have had.
  8. Travel is the best way to feel alive.
  9. If something doesn’t feel right, trust your intuition and go with that.
  10. You don’t have to stick to the rules set by society, if you don’t want to have children, don’t have children. If you don’t want to go to college, don’t go to college. If you don’t want to eat meat and dairy, don’t eat meat and dairy. If you don’t want to get married, you don’t have to get married.
  11. Stop caring so much about what people think and just live your life.
  12. Passive aggressive never works just be real.
  13. Communication and respect are the two most important things in a relationship.
  14. Don’t force yourself to do something you don’t like.
  15. Move your body ever single day.
  16. Appreciate time on your own and enjoy every moment spent with yourself and your thoughts.
  17. Buying ‘things’ to fill a void is never the solution. The same goes for eating to fill a void.
  18. We all suck at things, practice makes perfect.
  19. Confidence in yourself does not mean bullying others or putting others down to feel strong. That’s not confidence, that’s just being a bully.
  20. Try to change your attitude even when you are at your lowest.
  21. You don’t need to become a doctor or an engineer or a scientist or go to some big college or university. You don’t need to create a business or be famous to feel self-worth. All that matters is how you feel on the inside regardless of what you have achieved in your life.
  22. People tend to seek out stories and events that in one way or another fill their drama/negativity quota. Learn who to trust and who to keep at a distance.
  23. Your parents are the only two people in the world who will love you unconditionally. If you were blessed with parents who care, take good care of them and appreciate the time you have together.
  24. Keep a journal of all the things you’ve done, your thoughts, your experiences, your moods.
  25. Take care of your health; a clean and healthy body is a prerequisite to a clean and healthy mind.
  26. Take things one day at a time.
  27. Read inspiring stories. Get inspiration from something every single day.
  28. Always do the right thing and aim to be a good person.
  29. Don’t expect anything out of life. You’re not entitled to anything and when you understand that, you learn to accept whatever comes without too much emotional attachment.
  30. Love is all that matters. Love for all people, life, animals, nature and particularly, love for yourself.

IMG_20170319_092306_781

 

IMG_20170319_150900_911
I spent my birthday with my family, which is a gift in itself. The only way to celebrate a birthday in Saudi is to go out to a restaurant. So many to choose from. I wore a black embellished dress with heels and my black velvet abaya. We enjoyed a wonderful Ottoman meal at Tugra and I was gifted a lovely nude ‘leather’ backpack from my parents and a Nutri Bullet from the hubby. What more could a girl (woman) ask for?..

IMG_20170319_150216_272

IMG_20170319_150817_375

 

