Committing to Veganism

thumb_2016-07-02-10-17-04-1_1024

Is this a sign? 
I think it is. It’s time to commit to being 100% vegan and make this a lifelong commitment. This is a lifestyle change that I know is right. I’m sick and tired of seeing tubes shoved down ducks’ bills, pigs paralyzed with a shot to the head, chicken feet getting cut off in crates and baby male chicks getting chopped up and minced while still alive. I’m sick and tired of hearing about how important it is to eat eggs and dairy because that’s what the dairy industry wants to have us believe so they can continue to make a profit off their inhumane treatment of animals. I’m sick and tired of animals being treated like insignificant commodities and people justifying it with “well the bible says that ‘man was given dominion over animals’ so we can do whatever we want to them”. I’m sick and tired of the free-range bullcrap that’s not free range at all. And the FDA’s approval of blood, pus and feces infested milk and dairy products. Fish that are fed chicken, cows that are fed beef, chicken that are pumped with water, hormones and antibioitics. When do we reach a point where we put our foot down and say NO? This whole industry has nothing better to do than force-feed, rape and slaughter animals to a point of disgust and justify it with “the human species needs protein”. Sit down and shut up.

Today is the day. This is it. I now know I need to be 100% vegan. And here’s why…

Over the last few months, starting in March 2016, I saw my diet switch to a primarily plant-based, whole grains, legumes diet with no meat, no cheese and minimal dairy. I felt great. I did not commit to this 100% because I knew it wasn’t practical and up ’til now, I hadn’t crossed that line to veganism with no desire to return to my animal-product eating days. The only problem I found with this diet is that I was constantly bloated. My stomach was distended so bad I had to wear baggy tops so I wouldn’t look pregnant. Especially during my first year of marriage – that’s probably what most people would assume if they saw this big basketball-belly. Not to mention, the bloatin does nothing for intimacy with the hubby. I mean, seriously dude don’t touch me when I’m a puffer fish.

Anyhow, getting back to routine in August meant getting back to my regular eating habits. Oats, fruit, nuts and nut butters for breakfast…veggies, greens, rice and breads for lunch and basically the same thing for dinner. Two weeks ago I decided to try 100% veganism…and so I did. Today, I broke it. At work M invited us to pies from ‘Pie Days’ which is her in-law’s new restaurant. 1. I was starving, and 2. they sounded/look so good. I thought this would be something I could break veganism for. I did. I had two mini foul (fava bean) pies, and 2 mini pumpkin pies. I’m dying right now. Honestly, the pain I’m feeling in my belly cannot even be explained. Not to mention my belly has expanded to a different capacity. It’s the dairy man, I know it. I just know. It literally hurts so much I feel like, why. Why would I do this to my body? Is it because I watched that 50,000 calorie challenge on youtube last night? Like that was insane, I thought that twiggy kid was ridiculous for putting so much crap in his body all at once. I just ate 4 little pies and felt sick. Is this a sign?

I think it is. It’s time to commit to being 100% vegan and make this a lifelong commitment. This is a lifestyle change that I know is right. I’m sick and tired of seeing tubes shoved down ducks’ bills, pigs paralyzed with a shot to the head, chicken feet getting cut off in crates and baby male chicks getting chopped up and minced while still alive. I’m sick and tired of hearing about how important it is to eat eggs and dairy because that’s what the dairy industry wants to have us believe so they can continue to make a profit off their inhumane treatment of animals. I’m sick and tired of animals being treated like insignificant commodities and people justifying it with “well the bible says that ‘man was given dominion over animals’ so we can do whatever we want to them”. I’m sick and tired of the free-range bullcrap that’s not free range at all. And the FDA’s approval of blood, pus and feces infested milk and dairy products. Fish that are fed chicken, cows that are fed beef, chicken that are pumped with water, hormones and antibioitics. When do we reach a point where we put our foot down and say NO? This whole industry has nothing better to do than force-feed, rape and slaughter animals to a point of disgust and justify it with “the human species needs protein”. Sit down and shut up.

I’m fed up with promoting and accepting this ridiculous way of living. I’m so fed up with watching the people I love get sick with cancer, diabetes and heart disease. I’m so fed up with being lied to. I’m so fed up with not knowing if a tomato I’m eating is really a tomato or a toxic genetically modified prototype of what a tomato should be. So done.

