Lingering Scents – Perfume List by Season

Processed with VSCO

Perfume flatlay photo with pearls, lace and lipstick

I am a perfume enthusiast, no doubt. I have had perfumes since I was in Elementary School and I’m not talking about little girl body sprays, I’m talking straight up perfumes, the real deal. My favorite back when I was 10 or so was a little white bottle with a silver cap called Lilly. I would buy that perfume every chance I got, and when it ran out, oh boy. No other would take its place. As I got older, I started liking the more popular types like Ralph, the ones inspired by my mom’s taste…anything Estee Lauder or Dior…and finally, when I graduated…the perfume passion came to life. I could spend literally an hour just standing in front of colorful lanes of perfumes and sampling each and every one of them. On paper, and on skin. Skin is obviously a more accurate representation of what the scent will be when you wear it, since it mixes in with your natural skin oils. So…of course, I now have an assortment of different perfumes sitting on my shelf and a list of ‘to-try’ perfumes for future reference. This post is dedicated to those perfumes I love, those that I’ve purchased in the past that I don’t plan on buying again, and those that are currently on my want list. So here we go…

I do not have a go-to perfume for all occasions. Most women have their own scent that they have been loyal to for years, but that’s just not me. I get bored, and I like to try new things. Although I’ve always wanted to have my ‘signature scent’ and find that holy grail perfume…well, I don’t think that’s ever going to happen. So, instead, I realized that I’m more of a “seasonal” type of girl. Meaning, I have specific scents that I adore based on the season.

Autumn Fragrances: Woodsy, Vanilla-y, Spicy, Musky. I love Vanilla scents for the autumn months and I’m still looking for a great Autumn fragrance. I have a few vanilla scented body sprays (Bath & Body Work’s Vanilla Lavender or their Warm Vanilla Sugar one) but no extravagant perfume. I think I need to look into these:

Jo Malone’s Amber & Vanilla

Giorgio Armani’s Si which is a combo of Vanilla, Patchouli and Freesia.

Marc Jacobs’ Daisy Dream

Body Shop’s White Musk

Processed with VSCO

Winter Fragrances:

I love the heavy mysterious smelling ones here but my problem is that it’s only a temporary love. I’m all about light fragrances, the ones you just kind of get a whiff of and think, that’s light and delicate and lovely…not overbearing and in-your-face. I would say my heavier perfumes would be:

Chanel’s Chance (Tendre) [all time favorite]

Givenchy’s Very Irresistible

Estee Lauder’s Pure White Linen

Victoria’s Secret Love Spell

Estee Lauder’s Beyond Paradise

Spring & Summer Fragrances:

Wow, okay, so…summer and spring are easy since these are my favorite scents and the majority of my perfumes fall in this category. Faves include:

Ralph Lauren’s Ralph [still love this one!]

Marc Jacob’s Daisy Eau So Fresh

Burberry’s Sheer Brit

L’Occitane’s Lemon & Verbena [light and fresh]

Dior’s Miss Dior Blooming Bouquet [one of my favorites]

Davidoff’s Cool Water [yes, it’s old…but still so nice]

Prada’s Infusion d’Iris

Bvlgari’s Omnia [beautiful, will definitely re-purchase]

On my want-to-try list:

Dolce & Gabbana’s Dolce [or Spring/Summer]

Estee Lauder’s Sensuous Nude [for Autumn/Winter]

Roberto Cavailli’s Exotica [for Autumn/Winter]

Trish McEvoy’s Blackberry & Vanilla Musk [for Autumn/Winter]

Will not re-purchase:

Jo Malone’s Peony

Narciso Rodriguez’s Narciso Rodriguez (black bottle)

Estee Lauder’s Pure White Linen Coral

Burberry’s Summer Brit

Escada’s Especially Escada [loved this one at first but now I find it a little too intense]

 

Bloglovin’ Link

