A Poem by Cara Delevingne

This may not be appropriate cafe talk because it’s a little somber, and who the heck wants to sit around feeling miserable when all you want is to be floating off in to fashion-fantasy land?

No but seriously this is good. I recently watched Cara Delevingne’s interview from October where she opened up about depression, her rise to fame and working in the fashion industry. During the interview she read a poem she had written during some of her lowest times as a model. It may have been the mix of words she used and the way they were said (with her delicate British accent), I was moved, as I’m sure most would be; we can all relate. I find it very brave of her to read that out for all to hear and just put her struggles out in the open like that. That takes quite a bit of courage…

Who am I? Who am I trying to be?
Not myself, anyone but myself.
Living in a fantasy to bury the reality,
Making myself the mystery,
A strong facade disguising the misery.
Empty, but beyond the point of emptiness,
Full to brim with fake confidence,
A guard that will never be broken,
Because I broke a long time ago.
I’m hurting but don’t tell anyone.
No one needs to know.
Don’t show or you’ve failed.
Always okay, always fine, always on show.
The show must go on.
It will never stop.
The show must not go on,
But I know it will.
I give up. I give up giving up.
I am lost.
I don’t need to be saved,
I need to be found.
 
~Cara Delevingne
Cara Delevigne Poem
